The Kids Coach: Braving the cold weather with a smile

Kids will play football in any weather, but what about the parents? The Kids Coach Naomi Richards looks at how to brave the winter weather and show your support from the touchlines.

It has just started getting colder and my boys have changed from doing swimming on a Sunday morning to doing rugby outside instead.

I must admit I am not too good with the cold – standing outside watching them – and would have been happier for them to continue swimming. However, they wanted to change and they can swim unaided, so I was happy to take a new direction. So now I have a sport outside… during the winter.

Football is the same. Practice, games, training – they all happen whatever the weather and, as it gets colder, there will be no stopping your son or daughter wanting to play. They can put a few extra clothes on and are happy to be doing what they are doing. After all, they will warm up quite quickly running around. But what about the parents?

It can be hard for someone who is new to being a football parent. They have to adjust to the cold and the wet. Should they stop their child playing because they can’t hack the weather and the length of time they are outside? Or use this as a reason to just drop off their child and pick them up when football is over?

In my eyes, when a child has a dream and enthusiasm to do something we should allow them to do it, follow their lead and support them all the way. So I think grab an extra layer, a flask of coffee and something to eat and put a smile on your face as you go out of the door.

Perhaps, if you are feeling sporty, put on your gym kit and go for a run whilst they are training. That’s what I have started to do. Your child will then feel you are on their side and that you support them.