£50,000 boost for eight grassroots clubs

A lucky group of grassroots football clubs are set to benefit from a huge cash injection – thanks to Budweiser.

The Football Association has announced the winners of eight £50,000 grants as part of the Budweiser Club Futures programme.

The initiative aims to help teams at steps 5-7 of the football pyramid improve various parts of their general facilities, such as clubhouses and catering.

It aims to shine a light on grassroots football and help clubs to help themselves, making each side more sustainable within the community.

The financial stability which comes with winning a grant will give all the clubs the opportunity to create a legacy in their community to inspire future generations of footballers.

Launched in August, the Budweiser Club Futures programme will invest £1m directly into grassroots football in the UK over the next two seasons as part of Budweiser’s FA Cup sponsorship.

All of these eight winning clubs are now in with a game-changing chance of winning one additional £100,000 super grant to top up their funds to a mighty £150,000 following a vote by football fans on Facebook.

The voting opens on Monday 28 January on the Budweiser UK and FA Cup Facebook pages.

Budweiser Club Futures ambassador and Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew, said: “This is a significant amount of money for these clubs.

“We received some terrific applications and it was a hard process to whittle it down to the eight winners.

“Having started my career at grassroots level, I know just how hard it is to sustain a local club and can’t emphasise enough the importance of a programme like Budweiser Club Futures.”

Budweiser European Marketing Director Iain Newell added: “Non-League clubs are really important to the future of the beautiful game and to local communities.

“It’s great to be able to give these eight clubs the financial boost they deserve following their successful applications and we look forward to seeing how their plans to use their funding will improve their clubs.”

The eight winning clubs are:

* AFC Blackpool – North West
* Blyth Town FC – North East & Yorkshire
* Evergreen FC – East
* Raynes Park Vale – London
* Bardon Hill FC – East Midlands
* Pegasus Juniors FC – West Midlands
* South Park FC – South East
* Camelford FC – South West

To vote for your local club visit www.facebook.com/budweiseruk or www.facebook.com/thefacup from 28 January 2013.

To find out more about Budweiser Club Futures visit the FA website.

Source: TheFA.com

Posted in Uncategorized

Save hours each week with Teamer

Take the hassle out of organising your Team with the free Teamer app for sports teams! It takes minutes to get started.

Give it a shot

Popular Posts