Welsh grassroots heroes honoured at FAW awards

Welsh Community Football Awards pay tribute to the game's unsung heroes

Heroes of Welsh grassroots football were honoured in front of national team coach Chris Coleman and legends of the game in Cardiff last night at the Football Association of Wales (FAW) Community Awards.

Among them was Wayne Jeremiah, named the Welsh Football Trust’s Coach of the Year at the annual grassroots football awards ceremony, presented by McDonald’s.

The Abergavenny man received the award for his work as coach, manager and organiser at Mardy Tigers and PILCS FC, whose website is powered by Club Website.

Wayne's main achievement has been to showcase women’s and girl’s football in the Abergavenny area - establishing a senior side who have just won their division at the first attempt.

Currently, the junior section of the club has more than 100 girls taking part, whilst the senior team comprises of a 20 strong squad – making the club a prominent organisation for women’s football.

Wayne also works closely with local schools and has established a mini Tigers Academy, developing a young team who he has taken onto represent Wales in national competitions. Some former members have even gone onto win full international caps for Wales, thanks largely to Wayne’s coaching involvement and commitment.

Mardy Tigers have a huge reputation across the UK for producing excellent players with many of the girls progressing to the very top in Welsh and UK football.

Wayne's son Richard collected the award on his father's behalf from Welsh international Craig Bellamy (pictured) in front of past and present legends of Welsh football including new Wales captain Ashley Williams.

Winners from eight other categories were also present for the star-studded event.

The FAW Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, aim to recognise and celebrate those coaches, volunteers, clubs and leagues, across Wales who dedicate their time to grassroots football in their local community.

Among the judging panel for the awards was all-time record Welsh goalscorer Ian Rush, now McDonald’s Director of Welsh Football.

“The Welsh Community Football Awards were established to help reward the extraordinary number of volunteers that tirelessly support grassroots football in communities across Wales,” said Rush.

“These remarkable individuals dedicate their time to the grassroots game, simply for their love of football and it is incredible to celebrate some of these unsung heroes tonight.

“My congratulations go to Wayne this evening for his commitment and dedication to coaching, truly helping to develop women’s football in Wales.”


Coach of the Year: Wayne Jeremiah, Mardy Tigers / PILCS FC, Gwent

Club of the Year: Brickfield Rangers, Wrexham

School of the Year: Eglwys Newydd Primary School, Cardiff

Player of the Year (Boy): Alex Samuel, Aberystwyth, Ceredigion

Player of the Year (Girl): Kelsey Davies, Kinmel Bay FC, Conwy

Community Player of the Year (Boy): Ellis Underwood, Gwent

Community Player of the Year (Girl): Celyn Barnett, Cwmamman United, West Glamorgan

Lifetime Achievement: Alun Mummery, Llanfairpwll FC, Gwynedd

WFT People’s Award: Mary Ball, Trefelin Ladies, Neath

To find out more about each of the winners go to mcdonalds.co.uk/awards.

Posted in Uncategorized

Save hours each week with Teamer

Take the hassle out of organising your Team with the free Teamer app for sports teams! It takes minutes to get started.

Give it a shot

Popular Posts