Top grassroots award for Aberdeenshire club

Westdyke Community Club are celebrating after walking away with a top honour at the ninth Scottish FA Grassroots Awards.

The Aberdeenshire club - whose website is powered by Club Website - was named as Best Community Football Club at the Hampden Park ceremony, presented by McDonald’s and the Sunday Mail.

The awards celebrate the efforts of the tireless volunteers and clubs who give their valuable time and effort to provide footballing opportunities in communities across Scotland.

Westdyke FC is a real community club with ties across the local area - founded in 1996 Westdyke FC started with just two teams, sixteen years on and the club fields fourteen teams with over 200 members playing from 5-18 years old each week.

Twenty five qualified and dedicated coaches give up their time to coach at the club every week helping the club and the community reach a higher standard of grassroots football.

The club also have ties with local primary schools and help out at Westhill Academy, the local secondary school, to ensure that the standard of football in the region remains consistently high.

Scottish legend and McDonald’s Head of Scottish Football, Kenny Dalglish, praised Westdyke FC for their commitment to grassroots football in Scotland.

“Football in communities is built on the dedication of clubs like Westdyke FC," said Dalglish. "Without the hard work and dedication of all the grassroots clubs like Westdyke FC, Scottish football simply wouldn’t exist.

"What the club has accomplished over the past year to help develop football in the community is truly worthy of the recognition Westdyke FC received at the awards ceremony.

Graeme Burnett, club coach added: “I’m absolutely thrilled that Westdyke FC has been awarded Best Community Club at this year’s awards and am honoured to be able to accept this award on the clubs behalf.

"Over the last decade the club has been able to provide football opportunities to young people across Aberdeenshire and this award is testament to all the hard work and time dedicated by everyone involved to making the club the success that it now is.

"The award is a fantastic boost for everyone at the club and we’re honoured to have been recognised in this way."

Dalglish added: “As a long-term supporter of football in Scottish communities, McDonald’s is proud to champion those that give up so much of their time, providing young footballers the opportunity to shine in a fun and friendly environment.”

The ninth Scottish FA Grassroots Awards, presented by McDonald’s and the Sunday Mail were held at Hampden Park last Friday (27 September). A full list of winners can be found below, including Club Website members Doug Johnston from Linlithgow and Derek Paterson from Kelso, who both picked up individual awards.

Club Website would like to offer their congratulations to all the members of Westdyke Community Football Club and all of the award winners. They are thoroughly deserved!


2012 Scottish FA Grassroots Award Winners

Best community club: Westdyke FC, Aberdeenshire

Best volunteer in youth football: Derek Paterson, Kelso FC, Borders

Best volunteer in women's/girls' football: Doug Johnston, Linlithgow Rose Community FC, West Lothian

Best volunteer in schools football: John Peterson, Mintlaw Academy, Aberdeenshire

Best volunteer in adult football: Hugh Carswell, Ayrshire

Best volunteer in disability football: Yvonne Alexander, Inverurie

Coach of the year: Tony Begg, Loanhead Miners YFC, Midlothian

Community champion: James Strathdee, Glasgow Girls FC

Best professional community club: Stenhousemuir FC

Merit award for services to football: Robert McCallum, Gartcairn Academy, Airdrie


Posted in Uncategorized

Save hours each week with Teamer

Take the hassle out of organising your Team with the free Teamer app for sports teams! It takes minutes to get started.

Give it a shot

Popular Posts